April favourites – theBalm, Ted Baker and more!!!

We’re officially in May now (pretty terrifying for year 11’s like me – I know) so it is officially that time of the month again where I share with you all the products I was obsessed with in April.

FullSizeRender [21612].jpgNow theBalm’s Mary Lou-Manizer  is a product I have been reaching for A LOT this month, but its also one I wasn’t sure whether or not to include in this post. Being completely honest – I love this highlight and I can totally see why everyone raves about it but it also has A LOT of faults. It goes really, really patchy on my skin and super orangey after a while which of course is very annoying, it isn’t long wearing at all and is really hard to work with as it is simply so intense. Despite this, I FREAKING LOVE IT!!!! It’s so shimmery and pretty, it looks amazing on my skin and really complements the blush I like to use. I definitely have a love-hate relationship with this but its certainly been a favourite this month. If you want to hear a little bit more about my opinions of this click here for my full review of this product.FullSizeRender [21948].jpg

IMG_9468 [22343].JPGFavourite no.2 is a little bit of a random fave of mine. It’s my Nivea Refreshingly Soft Moisturising Cream. I simply love how versatile it is. You can use it on your face, body and hands which is super handy (get it handy 😂😉 #sopunny … not ugh) for travelling. I tend to use this on my face but I love how you have the option to use it on your body or hands. It’s quite thick which I really like at night so that when I wake up my face feels fabulous and this just makes my skin feel  amazing in general.

FullSizeRender [23836].jpgLo’real’s Infallible Mega Gloss Cream in 103 Protest queen is perhaps my favourite, favourite of this month. This colour is beautiful and really wearable. Its perfect for this time of year and is generally a great gloss. I’ve been using it almost everyday for the last month and I am obsessed – so much so I plan on wearing it at prom. Of course another plus is, is that Lo’real are 100% cruelty free which is quite important to me — although I wouldn’t ever completely stop buying from a brand if they test on animals I always try to stick to brands I know are cruelty free as I personally think animal testing for makeup products is cruel and unnecessary (in the majority of circumstance), but that’s a whole other story and completely off topic. FullSizeRender [22823].jpg

FullSizeRender [23468].jpgSoap and Glory’s Archery D-I-Y Brow Bar, is very much an old favourite of mine that I’d actually forgotten about. But this month I’ve fell in love with it all over again. It comes with a wax to keep your brows in place, a beautiful cream highlight and two powders – a dark blonde and a chocolate brown. I love this because it genuinely stays all day long and the powders have just the right amount of pigment – they’re pigmented enough to make your brows look on fleek, but they’re not overly pigmented so there won’t be any ‘scouse brows’ going on, although if you do prefer a stronger brow the shades are really buildable so are perfect for that too. Soap and Glory is also a cruelty free brand which is another plus.

IMG_9568 [24235].JPGAnother more random favourite of mine are these three cacti. I got them from Ikea in a pack of 3 and they where only £3 or £4 so are super affordable. I just think they look sooo cute. They’re super low maintenance of course because they’re cacti. As they come in these super cute little pots they’re great for adding a pop of colour to any room, I got mine in this gorgeous baby pink but they cam in a variety of different colours with a variety of different looking cacti to choose from and I have just been absolutely loving them this past month.

I’ve also really been loving his app – Sleep Better. It’s free on the app store and is basically a alarm/sleep tracker. It monitors how well your sleeping each night and picks a time that is best for you to wake up in. You put what time you want to be awake by and within half an hour of that time it will wake you up when your most ready. It’s been helping me wake earlier which is something I’ve been needing to do (as many of you know I’m doing my GCSEs this month and so have been trying to cram in a little extra revision each morning) but as it tells you how much sleep you’ve been getting you can make sure your getting enough sleep at all times which of course is very important if you want to be as happy and healthy as possible – which of course 99.9% of us do.

FullSizeRender [24616].jpgI’ve also been loving Lo’real’s matte and messy sea salt spray. Now I am going to be completely honest – this isn’t the best sea salt spray I’ve tried. This month I’ve been using it to add a little more volume to my hair. I have really thin hair so to add a little volume I’ve been spraying a little of this into damp hair at night and then putting my hair in a bun so that when I wake up and need my hair to be more voluminous for a plait or a bun that I want to look quite ‘chunky’ or messy then this has made my hair achieve that look much more easily.

FullSizeRender.jpgMax Factor’s Colour Corrector sticks are another absolute obsession of mine. I have the green one and OMG I am in love. I know a lot of people have mixed reviews about these products but I love them. They cancel 99% of my redness, they’re really blendable so they don’t end up peaking through my foundation, they make my foundation apply so much more easily and make it last a lot – and I mean a lot – longer. I use quite a lot of product every time I use this because I’m basically a tomato so they don’t last that long for me – I’d say maybe a month and a half, but I love them so much and they’re not overly expensive that I don’t mind constantly repurchasing. Max Factor unfortunately do test on animals so if I find a cruelty free replacement I will be sure to let you know.

Two fragrance products I’ve been loving this month are Ted Baker’s pink body spray and Dove’s go fresh compressed grapefruit and lemongrass deodorant. The Ted Baker is an all time fave of mine and is so cheap so I’d really recommend you going checking it out, and the Dove deoderent smells freaking amazing – I’m obsessed.

photo.jpgMy final favourites are a few YouTubers. This month I’ve been Saccone Joly obsessed – I never miss a video and I love how much you get to see of them and get to come along on all of their adventures. Unfortunately Anna had a miscarriage 2 days ago and I was so heartbroken for them but I think the way that they presented it and talked about it was really brave and I really respect them for continuing to vlog when they’ve just had this awful news – I know personally if I had gone through that I would have to take some time off, but they haven’t and I just really hope they’re ok. I find their constant positivity really inspiring and I just generally love them!!!

Another YouTuber I’ve been loving is Diana Saldana, all of her videos are so good and are quite regular which I love because a lot of ‘bigger’ YouTubers seem to post less frequently or seem to miss videos ect. which I find a little frustrating when it happens really often. Each video is really informative and you get the sense that she really knows what she’s talking about. No lie this girl is a makeup genius – she has completely changed the way I apply a lot of my makeup and it looks so much better.

So these are all the things I’ve been loving this month, let me know what you’ve been loving this month and leave a link to your blog bellow so I can check it out. Also if you liked this post please follow my blog and  if you like my favourite posts please like this so I will be sure to bring you more posts just like this one.  Thankyou so much for reading it means the world!!!! I’d also just like to say a huge thankyou to all of you – in the last month my views have suddenly gone up like crazy and my followers have doubled which feels amazing and I’m so grateful. I’ve been trying to improve my posts and make them as good as possible so that you’ll all want to read them and knowing that people are enjoying them and wanting to see more of my posts is crazy and I am so grateful for it so thankyou!!!! I’d also like to say sorry I didn’t post last week, last week was super hectic because I had loads of deadlines for coursework and so the posts I made weren’t posts I was proud of and so I didn’t want to post them as I try to make each of my posts as good as possible and they just were not up to my standards so I decided not to post them but I promise it won’t happen again.

Until next time,

Cloudy X

For more Cloudy Skies be sure to check me out on

Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram

 

One Reply to “April favourites – theBalm, Ted Baker and more!!!”

  1. love this! I also love the sacconejolys so much and I was freaking sad when I heard about annas miscarriage, they are such amazing people and its so sad to see that happen to a family:/

    Like

Leave a Reply

