Acne Coverage Summer Makeup Look

Whether it’s just a little bit of hormonal acne or trying to rid yourself of spots and pimples is a daily struggle – acne is a total nightmare and covering it up can be just as stressful as trying to get rid of it. Over the years I’ve finally found the best way for me cover up all my acne and redness so I thought I’d do this makeup look in the hope that it can make your acne a little more bearable and easier to cover up. This is very much a natural, everyday look which is pretty versatile – you can add a dramatic smokey eye for going out at night or leave it as it is for a casual everyday look. Anyway, enough of my bablleing on — I hope you enjoy this post!!!

Prepping and priming 

Untitled design (22).png

I start off by applying my Kiko Skin Tone Face Base using my fingers. This face base is green so it cancels out any redness on my face and as it’s a face base it helps make my makeup last longer and apply more smoothly.

This face base retails for £9.90 and you can purchase it from Kiko here.

Untitled design (23).pngI then use my Max Factor Green Colour Corrector Stick to cancel out any other redness that I may have on my face. I apply it straight onto the skin and then blend out slightly to stop it from peaking through my foundation.

This colour corrector stick retails for £8.99 and can be purchased from Boots here.

Untitled design (24).pngI then use Benefit’s Boi-ing Concealer to conceal any other blemishes that need some added coverage. I use this in a shade darker than what I’d use on top of my foundation because generally darker concealers have more coverage. (if you want a really natural contour try applying a concealer one or two shades darker in the places where you’d usually contour under your foundation too — it works like a treat!!!)

This Concealer Retains at £17.50 and can be purchased from Boots here.

Base

Untitled design (25).png
I then apply my Too Faced Born This Way Foundation in Porcelain using a makeup sponge. This foundation is yellow toned which will also help conceal any redness (as yellow and green tones cancel out redness) so if your foundation of choice has a lot of different shades I would always say try and pick a slightly more yellow toned shade if possible (although still try to make sure it still matches your skintone) to cancel out as much redness as possible.

This foundation retails at £29 and can be purchased from Debenhams here.

Untitled design (26).pngI then set my foundation using my Kiko Invisible Touch Fixing and Mattifying Face powder. I apply the powder under my eyes and to my t-zone as they’re the places where my makeup tends to move most throughout the day. I also apply it to all the places where I’m going to apply my bronzer so that it applies smoothly and doesn’t go patchy throughout the day.

This face powder retails at £12.90 and can be purchased from Kiko here.

Untitled design (27).pngI then apply my Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer to my forehead, cheekbones and nose. I also make sure to apply this bronzer down my neck  so that it doesn’t look like I have a super tanned face and a supper pale neck — not a good look. When applying the bronzer I try avoid applying it on top of any areas where I’m very spotty because you can end up taking off product that has already been applied.

This bronzer retails at £25 and you can buy it from Debenhams here.

Untitled design (28).pngI then lightly contour my cheekbones using my Sleek Face Form Palette in Light. Once applied I blend the contour out using upwards and outwards motions. By doing this my contour gets blended properly without looking muddy and stills looks nice and precise.

This palette retails for £9.99 and can be purchased from Boots here.

Untitled design (29).pngI then apply my Bourjois Little Round Pot Blush in 48 Ashes of Roses (cendres de roses brune) using a very light hand. I apply the blush in circular motions toward the outer part of my face – this suits my face shape best but also keeps the centre of my face (where I get the majority of my redness and acne) clear from any pink or red tones.

This blush retails at £7.99 and can be purchased from Boots here.

Untitled design (30).pngI then highlight using theBalm’s Mary Lou Manizer. As this is such an intense highlight I use a VERY light hand and apply it to the top of my cheek bones and down the bridge of my nose. One this I would definitely say is make sure you don’t apply your highlight to any areas where you have black heads or spots as this can end up emphasising them which isn’t a good look (in my opinion anyway).

This highlight retails at £17.50 and you can purchase it for £14.85 (on sale) at Feel Unique here.

I finish off this look by adding a thin line of eye liner, some mascara and a lip cream. I hope this helped if you have acne and wanted to see how I cover it up and go from spotty red skin to a much more flawless glowy skinned look.
IMG_1921 [95316]
IMG_2133 [95322]I hope you liked this blog post, if you did please like it and follow my blog. Thanks for all the support you always give me!

Until next time,

Cloudy x

12 Replies to “Acne Coverage Summer Makeup Look”

  1. I’ve definitely got to get my hands on a green base/corrector. Your coverage routine is amazing! I had a half-breakout/half-allergic reaction horror a few weeks ago that was a NIGHTMARE to cover. Fingers crossed that it never happens again but I’ll definitely be taking tips from your routine if it does! I love your posts!

    Oh! And you’ve been nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award 😉
    https://thatgeekygirlfriend.wordpress.com/2016/08/21/versatile-blogger-award/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

