Back To School Long Lasting Makeup Look

It’s September (ugh where has the year gone!?!?) which means it’s ‘back to school’ season (the saddest time of the year I know) so I figured I’d do an everyday makeup look for all of ya’ll headed back to high-school and those of you who, like me, are headed to college. I’ve tried to make this look as quick and easy to do as possible to try to save any rushing before you head out to school/college. For those of you headed to college I added a quick eye makeup look to this, but obviously if your headed to school then feel free to skip that part.This look is pretty natural but I really like it and I hope you do too!!!

Prepping and priming

Untitled design (3).png

I start off by priming my skin using Kiko’s Skin Tone Face Base, which is a green primer so it helps cancel out any redness on my skin, in addition to making my makeup last longer and apply more smoothly. I apply this in circular motions to ensure that the primer is applied evenly and to all areas of my face. When applying the primer over areas where I have any spots or irritation I use tapping motions so that I don’t further irritate those sensitive areas.

This Face Base retails at £9.90 and can be purchased from Kiko here.

Base

Untitled design (4).png

I then apply my Nars Radiant Cream Compact Foundation in the shade Mont Blanc using a makeup sponge. In the places where I have more imperfections I build up a little more coverage by applying more product using patting motions afterI have applied a thin even layer of product to my face.

This Cream Compact Foundation (refill) retails at £28 and can be bought from John Lewis here.

You can buy the compact this foundation fits into from John Lewis here for £7.

Untitled design (5).png

I then use Kiko’s Natural Concealer in 01 and 04 to correct any imperfections I have – 01 for under my eyes and 04 for redness and spots. When applying over spots I use dotting motions using my finger so that I don’t remove any product already on the spot or irritate it further.

Both of these concealers retail at £5.50 and you can buy them from Kiko here.

FullSizeRender[1449409]

I then apply Kiko’s Full Coverage Concealer to the places where I have colour corrected and to the places where I need a little more coverage. I apply it using a fluffy concealer brush and then blend it out using a buffing brush.

This Concealer retails at £7.50 and can be purchased from Kiko here.

Untitled design (7).png

I then apply Kiko’s Invisible Touch Fixing And Mattifying Face Powder using a fluffy powder brush. I apply the powder to my T-Zone (where my makeup moves the most) and to the places where I apply my bronzer so that it doesn’t go patchy throughout the day and blends as seamlessly as possible.

This Powder retails for £12.90 and can be bought from Kiko here.

Untitled design (8).png

I then apply Too Faced’s Milk Chocolate Soleil Bronzer to my forehead, cheekbones, sides of my nose and down my neck. When applying this bronzer I use circular motions so that the bronzer blends while I apply it, this way it gives my skin a natural sun kissed glow, while adding more dimension to my face.

This bronzer retails at £25 and can be purchased from Debenhams here.

Untitled design (9).png

I contour using Sleek’s Face Form Palette in Light. I use an angled contour brush for a more precise contour that doesn’t appear muddy or cakey on the skin. I then blend it out using upwards and outwards motions to give a natural, precise contour.

This Face Form Palette retails for £9.99 and can be bought from Boots here.

Untitled design (10).png

Using a fluffy blush brush I apply Benefit’s Rockateur Blusher to my cheekbones. I apply it to the outer part of my face as that is what suits my face shape best and keeps the inner part of my face (the area where I have the most spots and redness) clear from any red/pink tones  (which helps my skin appear clearer and healthier).

This Blusher retails at £23.50 and can be bought from Debenhams here.

Untitled design (11).png

Using a very light hand I apply theBalm’s Mary Lou-Manizer  to the tops of my cheekbones, the bridge of my nose, my cupids bow, chin and the area of my forehead above my eyes. This makes my skin look beautiful and glowing, plus this highlight is seriously long wearing so is perfect for at school or college as you won’t have to touch up through the day!!!

This Highlight retails for £17.50 and can be bought from Feel Unique on sale for £14.85 here.

Eyes

Obviously if you’re going to  back to school and not college or university then you won’t be able to wear eye-shadow, so in that case skip these steps, but if you are headed to uni or college I’ve put together an easy, long lasting eye-shadow look that I hope you’ll like.

Untitled design (12).png

I begin by priming my eyelids using Kiko’s Neutral Eye Base. This make sure that my eye-makeup lasts longer and that the eye-shadows appear more pigmented. I apply the primer using my ring finger so that I don’t pull on my eyelids (creating premature wrinkles) and so that the product melts onto the skin, making a more even layer of primer.

This Eye Base retails for £7.90 and can be bought from Kiko here.

Untitled design (13).png

I then apply the shade Stark (a really pretty pale, orangey-peach shade_ from my Gwen Stefani Eye-shadow palette all over my lid using a flat eye-shadow brush to really pack on as much pigment as possible. I then apply the shade Bitter (a burnt orange-red)  from my Urban Decay Vice 4 palette to the outer part of my eye. When doing this I don’t try to be neat at all really because I tend to neaten up my eye-shadow if necessary before applying eyeliner (once the eye-shadow is finished).

Untitled design (14).png

I then blend the two colours together so that my eye-shadow appears seamless. Once I’ve blended the two shadows I add a little bit of the shade punk (a very dark berry shade) from my Urban Decay Gwen Stefani Palette into the crease, before blending again.

Untitled design (16).png

Then, using my Revlon Colorstay Skinny Liquid Liner, I ‘draw’ a cat eye.

This eyeliner retails at £7.99 and can be bought from Boots here.

Untitled design (15).pngI then curl my lashes and apply my Kiko Longeyes Plus Active Mascara.

This mascara retails at £7.90 and can be bought from Kiko, on sale or £3.90 here.

Lips

Untitled design (17).png

I finish this look by applying a little bit of my Revlon ColorBurst Lacquer Balm in 140 Coy and blending it out with my finger. This adds just a very small amount of colour to my lips that looks very pretty and isn’t too overpowering for going to college/university.

This Lacquer Balm retails at £7.99 and can be bought from Boots here.

IMG_3855[1449383]

And with that this blog post comes to a close. I really hope you liked the look I created – personally I really like it!!! If you liked this blog post please like it and maybe even follow my blog — I’d be soooo grateful. As always, thankyou so much for your love and support!!

Until next time,

Bethan x

For more Cloudy Skies check out my

Pinterest | Twitter | Instagram

Liked this post? Maybe you’d enjoy my

August 2016 Favourites | Acne Coverage Makeup Look | Everyday Makeup look

Recently on Instagram

2016-09-03.png

11 Replies to “Back To School Long Lasting Makeup Look”

Leave a Reply

